Arewa Group Supports Amaechi, Tinubu, Akpabio, Others To Succeed Buhari

The Arewa group supports Amaechi, Tinubu, Akpabio, and some others to succeed Buhari for the next presidential election in 2023.

The Arewa Mandate Initiative (AMI) has supported Bola Ahmed Tinubu, Rotimi Amaechi, Orji Uzor Kalu and others to take over the presidents seat after President Muhammadu Buhari in 2023.

In a statement issued by Malam Muhammad Mubarak, FCT, Coordinator and Alhaji Aminu Muhammed, Sokoto Secretary respectively, stated that the support was in accordance with the gentleman agreement reached by the leaders of the party at the developmental stage in 2015.

“From our engagements with different All Progressives Youths groups, all over the North, the Arewa Mandate Initiative, AMI, wishes to announce that most of the APC, members support that the presidency should move to the south after President Muhammadu Buhari finishes his tenure in 2023.

“This decision was reached after months of major discussions with the youth groups and major decision makers in the party, all across all the three geo-political zones of the North-West, North-Central, and the North-East.

“The initiative, has been leading the support for changing power to the south. It had also carried out three major rounds of surveys among the APC supporters, on the 2023 presidential power shift, and discovered that most of the APC family are in full support that power should be moved to the south in accordance with the gentleman agreement reached by the leaders of the party in 2015.

“The group hereby wishes to caution those who might be thinking the presidential seat should go to the North to dessist from that idea in the interest of our party and national unity.

“Though the Arewa Mandate Initiative, recognizes that Nigerians have the right to seek for an elective office of their choice as this ones constitutional right. But, we caution politicians to let go of their presidential ambition, as their way of sacrificing  for the unity and stability of Nigeria.

Furthermore, the search for a president from the south that also matches the credentials of the current President Muhammadu Buhari, has focused on some individuals that may be the acceptable choice across the board, for both the south and north.

“From the names that the Arewa Mandate Initiative and the support groups are considering from the south-south, include, former Senate Leader, Victor Ndoma Egba,  Dr Timipriye Sylvia, Minister of Transport, SAN, the Minister of State, Petroleum, the Minister of Niger Delta, NDDC, Chief Godswill Akpabio and Chief Rotimi Amechi. From the South-West, the names include individuals like: Governor of Ekiti, John Kayode Fayemi, Asiwaju Ahmed Bola Tinubu, Minister of works Raji Fashola, and Minister of Interior, Rauf AregbeShola.”

The group said that it is looking at names like Former Governor of Abia, Dr Orji Uzoh Kalu, the Minister of Science and Tech, Dr Ogbonnaya Onu, the former Senate President, Chief Ken Nnamani, from the South-East and Governor of Ebonyi State, Umahi.

Also Read: NIN a necessary requirement for UTME & direct entry admission- JAMB

Categorized in: